My first Liebster Award

Posted on November 30, 2012

1


My first Liebster

Something happened yesterday that I’ve been honing my tearful acceptance speech, scrubbing the pea soup stains off my best Primark frock and practicing my best shocked-and-ecstatically-grateful-while-secretly-cursing-you-all-for-not-nominating-me-sooner face for. The lovely Small World BIG Mouth has nominated me for a Liebster Award and I couldn’t be happier – knowing that people gain even just a shred of enjoyment from my blog posts was all I ever really wanted, so big thanks for that.

The purpose of the Liebster (a German word which translates as dearest, beloved, or favourite) is to draw attention to blogs with 200 or less followers who deserve to have an increased readership. Like a non annoying version of a chain letter, the award is constantly moving from one blogger to the next, illuminating unrecognised talent across the blogosphere.


The rules, if nominated…

  • Answer 11 random questions about yourself (as asked by my nominator).
  • State 11 random facts about yourself.
  • Nominate up to 11 other bloggers who also have fewer than 200 followers (cannot vote the blogger who nominated you).
  • Ask 11 random questions to those you nominate.


My Answers

Nominees answer the same.

  1. What would be your last three-course meal before you die? Apple crumble and custard, then rocky road chocolate cake followed by banoffee pie – if I’m about to snuff it I’m going out on a sugar high.
  2. If you could have dinner with anybody, who would you dine with? Erwin James – writer and generally super inspiring dude.
  3. If you were given the task to achieve world peace, how would you achieve this objective? Focus on happiness and wellbeing rather than economic growth. Don’t ask me how.
  4. If you could bring back one deceased celebrity from the dead, who would it be and why? Shakespeare – so I can find out once and for all if he really did mean to weave all those annoying secret metaphors into his plays that I had to write English essays on, or if theorists just made them up to sound clever.
  5. What would you change about yourself and why? I’d like to be able to wear heels without falling flat on my face every bloody time.
  6. If you could be anyone but yourself, who would it be and why? Ray Mears. The man can live off dung juice and fashion a tent from just GRASS.
  7. If an alien knocked on your front door, what would you do? Sigh  with relief – I could really do with a holiday, space will do just fine.
  8. If you won $1 million in lotto, how would you spend it? Helloooooo luxury holiday home off the Caribbean coast of Mexico. 
  9. What’s your biggest regret? Not really knowing what I wanted to be when I grew up. Second biggest regret – still not knowing, and still not growing up.
  10. If you were given three wishes, what would you wish for? Immense musical talent, the ability to make cakes that don’t taste like rocks and a brand new top of the range SLR camera.
  11. If you had the invisibility cloak for the day, what would you do? Sneak into David Cameron’s office and move his stuff around in front of him until he feels scared, miserable and trapped. Then he’ll know how it feels to be poor/disabled/generally under-privileged under his government.


11 Random Facts about Myself

I live in my favourite part of London – eastside by the park and the canals.

I’ve travelled all over the world but until last month had never been to Scotland before.

I ran the 2010 London Marathon, and didn’t die.

I can do a weird voice that makes me sound like one of the chipmunks.

I once dunked a mars bar in tomato soup. It tasted great, and I am not ashamed.

My Grandma was German and my Grandad was Austrian. What that makes me, I’m not too sure.

Sometimes I hate writing. But I always grow to love it again.

I once ate an entire chili pepper. Raw.

I know all the lyrics to The Bad Touch by The Bloodhound Gang.

I once accidentally paid £40 for a bottle of water.

I caught dengue fever in Honduras a few years ago – but it won’t ever stop me going back to Central America.


My Nominations (in no particular order)
:


The parenthesis and the footnote


Elizabeth…the better half


The heavy metal cook


219,000 minutes of emptiness

Only a few I’m afraid but I’m still seeking out new and undiscovered blogs – I enjoy reading all of the above sites for various reasons and hopefully now you will too. Enjoy!