The home shire

Posted on June 21, 2012

1


Growing up in a little pocket of leafy, riverside suburbia, I never truly appreciated my home shire until I moved to London. City dwelling is infinitely awesome and I don’t think I’ll be able to give it up for a long time, but smog cloaked urban parks and green spaces are no substitute for the open air of the countryside.

Well, sort of countryside. I spent the majority of my childhood in Berkshire and Buckinghamshire which, while pretty, ain’t no Brecon Beacons. But when you spend the majority of your days pounding city pavements and hustling for a spare  patch of picnic space by the canal, the motherland becomes a veritable wonderland of babbling brooks, chirping finches and rolling, green hills. Not to mention it is in fact the part of the world that inspired the literary backdrop for Kenneth Grahame’s enchanting classic – Wind in the Willows.

So I thought I’d post a few of my favourite shire photos – shot over the last year or so – to illustrate just how beautiful this plot of land is, and to remember how lucky I am to have grown up there.

Sun dappled goose on Summerleaze lake

Monkey Island

Boulter’s Lock

Boulter’s Lock

Feasting squirrel

Suspicious squirrel

About to leap at my face squirrel

Maidenhead berries

Chasing ducks, Maidenhead

Monkey Island

Boulter’s Lock

Cliveden National Trust

Cliveden National Trust

Cliveden National Trust

Flowers in bloom, Maidenhead

Posted in: Photography